Penn Arts & Sciences Logo

Faculty

  • Shivani Agarwal

    Rachleff Family Associate Professor

    Machine Learning, Statistical Learning Theory, Mathematics of Ranking and Choice Modeling
    ashivani@seas.upenn.edu

    412 B, 3401 Walnut
  • John Bassani

    Richard H. and S.L. Gabel Professor of Mechanical Engineering

    Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
    Continuum Mechanics
    bassani@seas.upenn.edu

    Towne 237

    215-898-5632
  • Danielle Bassett

    Eduardo D. Glandt Faculty Fellow, Associate Professor, Department of Bioengineering

    Bioengineering, Human Neuroscience, Complex Systems Network Science, Nonlinear Oscillators
    dsb@seas.upenn.edu

    240 Skirkanich Hall

    215-898-7106
  • Bhaswar Bhattacharya

    Assistant Professor of Statistics

    Mathematical Statistics, Combinatorial Probability, Discrete and Computational Geometry
    bhaswar.bhattacharya@gmail.com

    466 Jon M. Huntsman Hall, 3730 Walnut Street

    215-573-0535
  • Andreas Buja

    The Liem Sioe Liong/First Pacific Company Professor of Statistics

    Statistics, Data Mining
    buja.at.wharton@gmail.com

    Jon M. Huntsman Hall 471

    215-898-8222
  • Tony Cai

    Daniel H. Silberberg Professor, Professor of Statistics

    Big Data Analytics, High-Dimensional Statistics, Statistical Machine Learning
    tcai@wharton.upenn.edu

    Jon M. Huntsman Hall 469

    215-898-8224
  • Pratik Chaudhari

    Assistant Professor, Electrical and Systems Engineering

    Machine Learning, Robotics, Computer Vision
    pratikac@seas.upenn.edu

    (857) 272-3225
  • Yong Chen

    Associate Professor of Biostatistics

    I am interested in developing novel methods for integrating heterogeneous biomedical data, including electronic health record data and genetic/genomic data. The goal is to enhance evidence-based clinical decision making, toward high quality precision medicine.
    ychen123@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
  • Kostas Daniilidis

    Professor of Computer and Information Science

    Computer Vision
    kostas@cis.upenn.edu

    Levine Hall 472

    215-898-8549
  • Christos Davatzikos

    Director, Center for Biomedical Image Computing and Analytics

    Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering and Director of Center for Biomedical Image Computing and Analytics
    Biomedical Image Analysis and Machine Learning
    christos.davatzikos@uphs.upenn.edu

    3600 Market Street, Suite 380

    215-349-8587
  • Anindya De

    Assistant Professor, Computer and Information Science

    Theoretical Computer Science, Applied Probability
    anindyad@seas.upenn.edu

    564 Levine Hall

    (215) 898-8365
  • Dennis DeTurck

    Robert A. Fox Leadership Professor of Mathematics

    Mathematical Analysis, Math Education
    deturck@math.upenn.edu

    3E5A David Rittenhouse Laboratories

    (215) 573-9036
  • Jian Ding

    Associate Professor of Statistics

    I am interested in various aspects of probability theory, with focus on topics which interact with statistical physics, theoretical computer science, combinatorics and optimization.  Some concrete topics include:1. Random constraint satisfaction problems, and random optimization problems.2. Random geometry of Gaussian free fields and Liouville quantum gravity.3. Random walk on random environment.
    dingjian@wharton.upenn.edu
  • Edgar Dobriban

    Assistant Professor of Statistics

    Statistical Methods of Big Data, Random Matrix Theory, Multiple Testing
    dobriban@wharton.upenn.edu

    465 Jon M. Huntsman Hall, 3730 Walnut Street
  • Nader Engheta

    H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering

    Professor of Bioengineering
    Electricity and Magnetism, Optics and Vision
    engheta@seas.upenn.edu

    Moore 215

    215-898-9777
  • Charles Epstein

    Thomas A. Scott Professor of Mathematics

    Mathematical Analysis, Partial Differential Equations, Medical Imaging, Population Genetics, Computational Electromagnetics
    cle@math.upenn.edu

    4E7 David Rittenhouse Lab

    215-898-8476
  • Jean Gallier

    Professor of Computer and Information Science

    Geometric Modeling, Computer Vision, Optimization, Applications of Differential Geometry, Applications of Algebraic Geometry
    jean@cis.upenn.edu

    Levine Hall 476

    215-898-4405
  • James Gee

    Associate Professor of Radiologic Science and Computer and Information Science

    Director, Penn Image Computing and Science Laboratory; Co-Director, HHMI-NIBIB Interfaces Program in Biomedical Imaging and Informational Sciences
    Medical Image Analysis
    gee@mail.med.upenn.edu

    3600 Market Street, Suite 370

    215-662-7109
  • Ed George

    Universal Furniture Professor of Statistics

    Hierarchical Modeling, Modeling Uncertainty, Shrinkage Estimation, Treed Modeling, Variable Selection, Wavelet Regression
    edgeorge@wharton.upenn.edu

    Jon M. Huntsman Hall 446

    215-898-8229
  • Robert Ghrist

    Andrea Mitchell Professor of Mathematics and Engineering

    Applications of Topology
    ghrist@seas.upenn.edu

    Room 3E5B - David Rittenhouse Laboratories

    215-746-1929
  • Herman Gluck

    Professor of Mathematics


    gluck@math.upenn.edu

    4N57 David Rittenhouse Laboratory

    215-898-8470
  • Pablo Gonzalez-Camara

    Assistant Professor of Genetics

    Mathematical Biology, Genomics, Cancer Biology, Applications of Topology and Alegebraic Geometry
    pcamara@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

    A302 Richards Building, 3700 Hamilton Walk

    215-746-3545
  • Mark Goulian

    Charles and William L. Day Distinguished Professor in the Natural Sciences

    Microbiology, Biophysics
    goulian@sas.upenn.edu

    204F Carolyn Lynch Laboratories

    215-573-6991
  • Philip Gressman

    Professor of Mathematics

    Harmonic Analysis and Kinetic Equations
    gressman@math.upenn.edu

    3E5C David Rittenhouse Laboratory

    215-898-7845
  • James Haglund

    Professor of Mathematics

    Algebraic Combinatorics, Experimental Mathematics
    jhaglund@math.upenn.edu

    David Rittenhouse Laboratory

    215-573-9093
  • Hamed Hassani

    Assistant Professor Electrical and Systems Engineering

    Machine Learning, Optimization, Information Theory, Random Combinatorial Structures.
    hassani@seas.upenn.edu

    3401 Walnut St/465C

    6506665254
  • Brett Hemenway

    Research Assistant Professor

    Coding Theory, Cryptography, Algorithms  
    fbrett@cis.upenn.edu

    311 Levine

    215-746-1738
  • Ryan Hynd

    Associate Professor of Mathematics

    Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations 
    rhynd@math.upenn.edu

    David Rittenhouse Laboratory

    215-573-6215
  • Shane Jensen

    Professor of Statistics

    Statistical Methodology for Applications in Urban Studies and Sports
    stjensen@wharton.upenn.edu

    463 Huntsman Hall

    215-573-2211
  • Douglas J. Jerolmack

    Graduate Chair and Associate Professor of Earth and Environmental Science

    Theoretical and Experimental Geology
    sediment@sas.upenn.edu

    240 Hayden Hall

    215-746-2823
  • Chenfanfu Jiang

    Assistant Professor of Computer and Information Science

    Physics-Based Animation, Scientific Computing, High-Performance Computing, Computational Solid and Fluid Mechanics
    cffjiang@cis.upenn.edu

    Levine 303

    215-573-2815
  • Randall Kamien

    Vicki and William Abrams Professor in the Natural Sciences

    Soft Matter, Statistical Mechanics, Geometry
    kamien@physics.upenn.edu

    2N26 David Rittenhouse Laboratory

    215-898-5940
  • Sampath Kannan

    Department Chair and Salvatori Professor of Computer and Information Science

    Algorithms, Program Reliability, Computational Biology
    kannan@cis.upenn.edu

    Levine 566

    215-898-9514
  • Michael Kearns

    Professor of Computer and Information Science and National Center Chair

    Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence
    mkearns@cis.upenn.edu

    Levine Hall 509

    215-898-7888
  • Junhyong Kim

    Patricia M. Williams Term Professor of Biology

    Computational Evolutionary Biology
    junhyong@sas.upenn.edu

    103H Lynch Labs

    215-746-5187
  • Dan Koditschek

    Alfred Fitler Moore Professor and Chair, Electrical and Systems Engineering

    Robotics, Neuromechanical Systems Biology
    kod@seas.upenn.edu

    Levine Hall 460

    215-898-9506
  • Vijay Kumar

    Nemirovsky Family Dean, Penn Engineering

    Robotics, Biological Modeling and Computation
    kumar@cis.upenn.edu

    Towne 229C

    215-898-3630
  • Hongzhe Lee

    Professor of Biostatistics and Statistics

    Biostatistics, Statistics
    hongzhe@mail.med.upenn.edu

    215 Blockly Hall

    215-573-5038
  • Andrea Liu

    Hepburn Professor of Physics

    Soft/Living Matter Physics
    ajliu@physics.upenn.edu

    2N30 David Rittenhouse Laboratory

    215-573-7374
  • Qi Long

    Professor of Biostatistics

    Statistical and Machine Learning, Bioinformatics and Data Mining Methods for Analysis of Big Biomedical Data, Missing Data, and Causal Inference.
    qlong@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

    215-573-0659
  • Zongming Ma

    Associate Professor of Statistics

    High-dimensional Statistical Inference, Non-parametric Statistics, Network Data Analysis
    zongming@wharton.upenn.edu

    468 Jon M. Huntsman Hall

    215-898-9796
  • Iain Mathieson

    Assistant Professor of Genetics

    Population Genetics, Statistical Genetics, Human Evolution
    mathi@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

    405B Clinical Research Bldg, 415 Curie Blvd.
  • Nikolai Matni

    Assistant Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering

    Robust, Optimal and Distributed Control, Optimization, Machine and Reinforcement Learning
    nmatni@seas.upenn.edu

    Levine Hall, Room 374, 3330 Walnut St.
  • Yoichiro Mori

    Calabi-Simons Chair in Mathematics and Biology

    Mathematical Biophysics and Physiology, Applied and Numerical Analysis
    y1mori@math.upenn.edu
  • Phil Nelson

    Professor of Physics and Astronomy

    Condensed Matter Physics, Biophysics, Soft Matter Physics
    nelson@physics.upenn.edu

    DRL 2N8

    215-898-7001
  • George Pappas

    Joseph Moore Professor in Electrical and Systems Engineering

    Control Theory, Systems Theory, Robotics
    pappasg@seas.upenn.edu

    Levine Hall 460

    215-898-9780
  • George Ilhwan Park

    Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics (MEAM)

    Computational Fluid Dynamics, Turbulence, Numerical Methods
    gipark@seas.upenn.edu

    3401 Walnut Street - PICS Room 524

    215-898-5596
  • Robin Pemantle

    Merriam Term Professor of Mathematics, and Professor of Computer and Information Science and Statistics

    Probablity and Combinatorics
    pemantle@math.upenn.edu

    4N22 David Rittenhouse Laboratory

    215-898-5978
  • Paris Perdikaris

    Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics (MEAM)

    Mathematical and Data-Driven Modeling, Machine Learning, High-Performance Scientific Computing
    pgp@seas.upenn.edu

    Towne Building

    215-746-2993
  • Joshua Plotkin

    Professor of Biology, Computer and Information Science, and Mathematics

    Mathematical Biology
    jplotkin@sas.upenn.edu

    219 Carolyn Lynch Laboratories

    215-898-7121
  • Pedro Ponte-Castañeda

    AMCS Graduate Program Chair

    Raymond S. Markowitz Faculty Fellow and Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics
    Continuum Mechanics, Homogenization, Active Materials, Geomechanics
    ponte@seas.upenn.edu

    Towne 235

    215-898-5046
  • Victor Preciado

    Associate Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering

    Complex Networks, Graph Theory, Optimization, Dynamical Systems
    preciado@seas.upenn.edu

    360 Levine

    215-573-2812
  • Prashant Purohit

    Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics

    Materials, Mathematical Biology
    purohit@seas.upenn.edu

    3401 Walnut Street, Room 528

    215-898-3870
  • Ravi Radhakrishnan

    Professor of Bioengineering and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


    rradhak@seas.upenn.edu
  • Arjun Raj

    Assistant Professor of Bioengineering

    Molecular Systems Biology, Mathematical Biology, Cellular Imaging, Cancer Biology, RNA Biology
    arjunraj@seas.upenn.edu

    410 Skirkanich Hall; 111 Hayden Hall

    215-821-7394
  • Celia Reina

    William K. Gemmill Term Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics

    Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics
    creina@seas.upenn.edu

    3401 Walnut Street, Room 523

    215-898-9258
  • Aaron Roth

    Class of 1940 Bicentennial Associate Professor of Computer and Information Science

    Computer and Information Science
    aaroth@cis.upenn.edu

    3401 Walnut, #406B

    215-746-6171
  • Dan Roth

    Eduardo D. Glandt Distinguised Professor of Computer and Information Science

    Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, Probabilistic Reasoning, Optimization
    danroth@seas.upenn.edu

    3401 Walnut Street
  • Harvey Rubin

    Professor of Medicine, Microbiology, and Computer Science

    Infectious Disease, Complex Biological Systems
    rubinh@mail.med.upenn.edu

    536 Johnson Pavilion

    215-662-6475
  • Saswati Sarkar

    Professor of Electricial Systems and Engineering

    My research interests are in the general area of the science and economics of diverse classes of networks (e.g., communication, social, transportation, power, economic) with emphasis on pricing and market economics, security, resource allocation, optimization and control of stochastic systems, distributed systems and algorithm.
    swati@ee.upenn.edu

    (215) 573-9071
  • Andre Scedrov

    Chair of Mathematics and Professor of Computer and Information Science

    Logic, Cybersecurity, Cryptographic Protocols, Formal Methods, Formal Grammar, Logical Aspects of Linguistic Structure
    scedrov@math.upenn.edu

    4E6 and 4W7 David Rittenhouse Laboratory

    (215) 898-8627
  • Vivek B. Shenoy

    Eduardo D. Glandt President's Distinguished Professor

    Mechanobiology, Materials, Biophysics
    vshenoy@seas.upenn.edu

    3231 Walnut Street - 309 LRSM

    (215) 898-1558
  • Dylan Small

    Class of 1965 Wharton Professor of Statistics

    Casual Inference, Applications of Statistics to Public Health, Design and Analysis of Experiments and Observational Studies, Measurement Error
    dsmall@wharton.upenn.edu

    Huntsman 464

    215-573-5241
  • Kent Smetters

    Boettner Professor of Business and Public Policy, Faculty Director of the Penn Wharton Budget Model

    Economics, Applied Theory, Public Economics, Insurance
    smetters@wharton.upenn.edu

    Room 1358 Steinberg Hall - Dietrich Hall

    215-898-9811
  • David Srolovitz

    Joseph Bordogna Professor of Engineering and Applied Science

    Professor, Departments of Materials Science and Engineering and Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics
    Computational and Theoretical Materials Science
    srol@seas.upenn.edu

    3401 Walnut Street, Room 532

    215-898-6924
  • Robert Strain

    Professor of Mathematics

    Analysis of non-linear partial differential equations, Equations of gas dynamics and fluid flow, The Boltzmann Equation, The incompressible Navier-Stokes equations
    strain@math.upenn.edu

    3E5 David Rittenhouse Laboratory

    215-898-4828
  • Weijie Su

    Assistant Professor of Statistics

    Statistical Machine Learning, High-Dimensional Statistical Inference, Large-Scale Multiple Testing, Privacy-Perserving Data Analysis
    suw@wharton.upenn.edu

    472 Jon M. Huntsman Hall, 3720 Walnut Street
  • Joseph E. Subotnik

    Professor of Chemistry

    Chemical Physics, Statistical Mechanics, Electronic Structure, Statistical Physics, Computational Physics, Nonadiabatic Dynamics
    subotnik@sas.upenn.edu

    Chem Bldg., 268 CRET, 231 S. 34th Street

    215-746-7078
  • Kai Tan

    Associate Professor of Pediatrics

    Systems Biology, Genomics, Graph Theory, Bayesian Inference, Machine Learning
    TANK1@email.chop.edu

    4002 Colket Translational Research Bldg., (CTRB), 3501 Civic Ctr.Blvd.

    267-425-0050
  • Lyle Ungar

    Professor of Bioengineering, Computer and Information Science, Genomics and Computational Biology, Operations, Information and Decisions, and Psychology

    Big Data, Linguistics, Machine Learning
    ungar@cis.upenn.edu

    Levine Hall 504

    215-898-7449
  • Ragini Verma

    Associate Professor of Radiology

    Statistics of Diffusion Tensor Imaging, Combining Different MR Protocols, Automated Facial Expression Analysis
    Ragini.Verma@uphs.upenn.edu

    3600 Market Street, Suite 380

    215-662-7471
  • Rakesh Vohra

    George A. Weiss and Lydia Bravo Weiss University Professor, Departments of Economics and Electrical and Systems Engineering

    Mechanism Design
    rvohra@seas.upenn.edu

    Perelman Center for Political Science & Economics, 133 S. 36th Street, Room 523

    215-898-7701
  • Abraham J. Wyner

    Professor of Statistics

    Baseball, Boosting, Data Compression, Entropy, Information Theory, Probabilistic Modeling, Temperature Reconstructions
    ajw@wharton.upenn.edu

    Huntsman 448

    215-898-2439
  • Nancy Zhang

    Associate Professor of Statistics

    Genomics, Computational Biology, Change-point Methods, Scan Statistics, Empirical Bayes Estimation, Model and Variable Selection
    nzh@wharton.upenn.edu

    3730 Walnut Street, Suite 467

    215-898-8222